The winner of the biannual Mies van der Rohe award for architecture has been announced by the European Commission.

The European Commission and Mies van der Rohe Foundation this week announced the Philharmonic Hall of Szczecin, Poland, as the 2015 recipient of the biannual European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award, selected from some 420 projects. Designed by Spanish firm Baroizzi / Veiga, the nearly-4000-square-metre structure comprises a white glass facade that provides a counterpoint to the pre-war-era buildings of the area, and inside a symphony hall, chamber music hall, exhibition space and large foyer.

d38bsbskrw2ug74i ecrschde577geszr jkoacwfxf0sg8nmw xi4eu1z3sqfntfmp